Tuesday, August 31, 2010

Altoids not gluten free?!




How did I not see this before?? I pulled out this little tin of altoid minis i found and Wheat maltodextrin is the third ingredient, ugh.

7 comments:

Nicole said...

Seriously? That's awful! I would never even have thought to look. And I'm pretty sure they don't need wheat maltodextrin to make mints. :(

Callie B. said...

Oh NO! I have been popping them all week! UGH! I hate pointless gluten. Werthers Originals got me too!

Anonymous said...

I think that only the minis have the wheat maltodextrin. Also, reputable sources do say that even if maltodextrin is sourced from wheat, the processing renders it gluten free (like vinegar). See, e.g., this glutenfreeliving link (http://www.glutenfreeliving.com/ingredient.php#maltodextrin)

Allie said...

Anon - it looks like you're right. I got my hands on a regular box of altoids and they did not have wheat maltodextrin listed!

Anonymous said...

I'm so confussed. One place it says they do have gluten and I did see it in the ingredients myself and then on their web site they have altoids listed with a big check mark as Gluten Free. I don't know who to ever beleive in this new gluten free life I am trying to live. It is so HARD.

Anonymous said...

I will have a migraine headache within 2-3 hours of ingesting anything with glutin in it. Altoids has given me a reaction at least 3 times and it does not matter what size package.

Dan

Anonymous said...

I'm usually very cautious about ingesting any gluten. I just polished off a tin of Altoids, recklessly, and now I know why I have the painful rash. At least it is the least annoying of the reactions that I have. Thanks for the info.